KSID Radio
Click to choose your station
Shop Here - Shop Now - SAVE BIG
Click to play Sky FM Click to play The Fort
SKY FM Stream The Fort AM Stream

2018 Nebraska Athletic Hall of Fame Class Announced


Five distinguished student-athletes and a pair of legendary football coaches make up the 2018 University of Nebraska Athletic Hall of Fame Class announced Monday.

The class includes Darin Erstad (baseball 1993-94-95; football 1994), Peaches James (softball 2001-02-03-04), Sarah Pavan (volleyball, 2004-05-06-07), Mike Rozier (football, 1981-82-83) and Tom Schlesinger (men’s gymnastics 1985-86-87-88), along with football coaches Bob Devaney and Tom Osborne, who will be the first coaches enshrined in the Nebraska Athletic Hall of Fame.

Erstad was the first Husker baseball player to be named the conference player of the year, and he went on to become the first player in Major League Baseball history to win a Gold Glove Award at multiple positions.

Former Nebraska head
football coach and athletic
director was one of the
first coaches to be inducted
into the Nebraska Athletics
Hall of Fame.
Photo by Huskers.com.

James was the first pitcher in Big 12 history to be a four-time first-team all-conference selection and was also a two-time finalist for national player of the year.

Pavan is the only individual in NCAA history to be a two-time national Academic All-American of the Year, and she is one of only five volleyball players in NCAA history to be a four-time first-team All-American.

Rozier was the second player in NCAA history to rush for 2,000 yards in a season when he ran for 2,148 yards in 1983 en route to winning the Heisman Trophy.

Schlesinger, the first Husker gymnast to be an Academic All-American, was a multi-time All-American both in competition and in the classroom, in addition to being an individual and team national champion and an Olympian.

The first coaches to be enshrined in the Nebraska Athletic Hall of Fame are both members of the College Football Hall of Fame who also served as Husker Athletic Directors. Devaney guided Nebraska to a 101-20-2 record over 11 seasons from 1962 to 1972 and won eight Big Eight titles and the first two national championships – in any sport – in school history (1970 and 1971).

Osborne served on Devaney’s staff each year before taking over as head coach. He won 14 conference titles and three national championships in his 25 seasons (1973-97), guiding Nebraska to a 255-49-3 record. Devaney served as Nebraska’s Athletic Director from 1967 to 1992, while Osborne was the Huskers’ Athletic Director from 2007 to 2012.

Devaney and Osborne were just the third coaching duo to post back to-back 100-win careers at the same institution and the first to do so in 22 years after Osborne recorded his 100th victory in 1983.

This is the Hall of Fame’s fourth overall year and the first year it has included coaches.

The 2018 class will be formally inducted into the Nebraska Athletic Hall of Fame on Sept. 7 before being recognized the next day during the Husker football game against Colorado. In conjunction with the enshrinement ceremony, a granite plaque with the names of the five members of the 2018 Hall of Fame class will be added to the University of Nebraska Athletic Hall of Fame Plaza.



46° F
Sidney, NE
Copyright © 2018 KSID Radio
Designed and Hosted by RiverBender.com

KSID Radio
2306 Legion Park Road
P.O. Box 37
Sidney, Nebraska 69162

Phone: 308.254.5803
Toll Free: 800.322.5743
Fax: 308.254.5901